Bandit Chapter 2 – Where is the Hunting Ground?

I wore the boots and mantle stripped from an enemy’s corpse. The belt was wide and when I hanged a dagger on it, it wasn’t visible at all.

This world has no socks. So I took the enemy’s clothes, cut them like bandages and wounded it around my feet as a replacement for socks.

After fixing up myself, I sat on a chair at one corner of the table. A ceramic cup came in front of me like all the others.

The cup was filled with wine, but I just drank a mouthful of it.

Although sake is not that strong, I am still not 20 years old so I didn’t drink much.

「First of all, would you tell your name and place of origin?」

「My name, comes from Yakura from the character meaning high-tower and Ban from the character meaning deep-companion, Yakuto Bandai. My family name is Yakuto and given name is Bandai. I belong to a country called Japan, but I think it is very far away from here.」

「Yakuto, Banta? And even this country called Japan, I haven’t heard about such a country.」

「Since you have a family name means you are a noble right? It seems like any country has low-class nobles as underlings.However, shouldn’t you be able to wield swords since you are a noble?」

「Unfortunately I am just a scholar…. 『Use your knowledge instead of swords to travel around the world』 or so I was told to do…..」

「Even if that is the case, to volunteer in a transfer magic experience is simply absurd.」

「But thanks to that, we got hold of such a fine talent, isn’t that a good thing? Now then, Banta, how do we begin this bandit group?」

She sure is a princess.

It was a commanding tone, but its acceptable. Mutual understanding is important when devising plans.

As such, l started explaining on how to become a bandit.

Even so, there’s really transfer magic here? I wonder if its good that they think I arrived here due to failure of that experiment.

Banta is the nickname that my companions used to call me.

Surprisingly I like this nickname, that’s why it didn’t bother me.

「Firstly, a bandit’s appearance is very important. Anyone who sees us should instantly think of us as bandits….」

A Japanese should look like a Japanese, or so my teacher said.

A furred vest with an axe is the best but, a bit big body frame is preferable.

The sword shouldn’t be hanged on the belt, but carried on the back.

They should be intimidating as much as possible and loot the goods, and quickly disperse when the soldiers come.

「Use countryside dialects as much as possible for speech, if you can, make it very blunt and rough. Use loud voices to talk with each other and threaten your opponent.」

A young man sitting some distance away from me, was taking note of my words.

「A territory and a hideout is a must for bandits. You can think of it as a castle in your territory. Those who try to devastate your territory should be given merciless counterattacks. The hideout at the very minimum must have an aqueduct and secret passage for escape.」

「Hoh, a castle and a territory. Unexpectedly, both bandits and kingdom resemble each other at many places.」

「But, bandits are unlawful. They are beheaded on the spot if  captured.」

「Our situation at the present is no different. If we get caught, only torture and death awaits us. I think becoming a bandit is more preferable than that.」

The situation isn’t any worse than the present huh. Then, becoming a bandit is fair enough.

「The issue is the people we attack, 『anyone is fine, is not okay』, please engrave it in your minds. We will become bandits, but that does not means it will the end of it.」

「It should not become an existence feared by the populace. Otherwise after we revive our kingdom, if any enemy tries to invade, the people will pleasantly welcome them than to support us.」

「Our job is to steal away the goods plundered by the invading army. This is our first objective. Next, we would aim for the movements between the kingdoms.」

「Interesting. The transportation of slaves through cargos will probably start within one month. We need to start the preparations soon.」

「And, our troops are……」

「24 people. It can be considered as 2 squads. Nevertheless that’s one platoon…….」

「Including the nanny, we are 8 people. All of us hold the requirements of a mage.」

That’s about 30 people huh. This will become a good bandit group.

In that case, we need to have a name. A name that will make the enemy shiver in fear just by hearing it.

「To start as bandits, do we make the vicinity around the borders of the  kingdom as our establishment?」

「It has meandering mountain road. It sure looks good.」

「Its not good to be anywhere you know. First…….」

A place where our escape route is secured. It is very important for it to be near the hideout. Especially the hideout should be at a location where troops deployment will be continually hindered. If not, we will probably face annihilation if the kingdom starts a siege on us.

「I see. It’s not so easy to be bandits huh.」

「It seems there is a place with such strategic conditions. By the way, from the current story…..」

Zairas san pulled out rolled parchment from his chest pocket. Its pretty elastic for a paper. Is it possibly a parchment?

A big map came into my view when the parchment was spread out on the table. Then Zairas san slid his finger on the map and stopped in the middle of a zigzag path.

「About 200 years ago, due to failure of establishment of diplomatic relations, we were on the verge of a war with the neighboring country. There should be traces of the signal tower of that time in the nearby vicinity. The signal tower itself is inconsequential, but we can establish a base and station our troops there.」

「Hmm, with some people on the lookout, we can make preparations to escape through the back route anytime. Since I usually used to go to the military post through the main highway, I know that this route is separated from the main highway.」

It seems to be the ideal place to establish the hideout. If there is a water source nearby then there is nothing to object about this location.

「As for the water source, I heard there is spring water nearby. In addition to that….」

Once again his finger slides on the map.

「There is a former village ahead in the way of our escape. Presently no one lives there. They seemed to have been attacked by a large horde of wolves. The surviving villagers then descended to the foot of the mountains.」

「For people who escaped from the kingdom, it is possible to start a living there. That’s enough. We will live as bandits from now on!」

「Just in case, we will be called as bandits, but the truth is we are all chivalrous thieves. Thereabout, I ask you to not to make any mistakes regarding that.」

「That’s right. Do not forget, we are chivalrous thieves that are trying to revive our kingdom. As long as we have such morals, even if we will be called as bandits, no one will call us villains. That said, when are we going to set out?」

「Take a good rest for tonight. We made several people go to some far away villages to get food. When they return, we would not be bothered by food for a while. We will stand watch outside of the shed.」

When I said that, all men present inside stood up. It feels better when they obey me. I also want to look outside.

After I followed them out, I saw that the shed was located at the base of a mountain. Since the shed isn’t that big, it possibly might be a shelter for hunters..

The mountains rising upwards are covered in white snow.

Since the new leaves on the surrounding trees have light colors, is it the time of end of spring?

「Banta, this way!」

The man from a short while ago called out to me.

There were several men surrounding a bonfire when I looked in the direction of the voice.

I sat next  to him and briefly introduced myself to them. Apparently, I seemed to have been accepted as an ally.

「Then, is this the youth that became our advisor?」

「It is so. This is the princess’s command. We need the knowledge of this young man, Banta, in order to rise as bandits.」

「Bandits?」

Why us? That was the expression on every one’s face.

「Now now, don’t be sour. Even I was surprised when I first heard it. But after listening to Banta’s story, it seemed to be the best choice for our future. It may sound like that but we will not be simple bandits. We will become brutal bandits.

However that is only on the surface. We will become chivalrous thieves. We will punish the Madenium Kingdom that torments the people.」

After hearing the youth’s story, the faces of others surrounding the bonfire shone brightly.

They started patting shoulders of the person next to each other.

「In that case, we will still be following the ideals of a knight! We were discussing about which mountain to hide into earlier, but now we will become bandits….」

「Well, we are bandits on the surface only. But never forget that deep down we are still knights. As long as we act like chivalrous thieves in favor of the masses, they will definitely support us.」

When I just sat there, they all had sunken looks on their faces. Now  they started talking with each other in high spirits. If there was no hope, would their expression ever change so much? I have to make this plan a success by all means.

「We will depart for the hideout tomorrow. Give good rest to your bodies. Also, please align as much as possible with what Banta wants.」

After saying that, the youth stood up. There was another bonfire at a slight distance from this one. It seems he went there to explain all of what he told here.

A person on the top has different problems of his own.

「By the way, you are Banta right. Your appearance does not seem to be of someone from around here but, are you a knight?」

「I came from a distant country. I am not a knight but a scholar.」

「And because of that you became the advisor. …….Even if we escaped from the war we were depressed. Your words saved us. Now about what Zairas dono has said just now, Banta, could you give us the complete report?」

「If we try to go deep into the mountains, we will not be able to restore the kingdom………」

They heard my end of the story with interested looks.

A man picking up a sword to fight in itself is a knight. But for the usual me it does not makes much  difference.

When I said that I can’t remember the names of all the knights, they told me it is enough to remember the names of the squad leaders and Zairas dono.

Well eventually I will remember all of their names, but it will take a while to get a hang of that.

「Since you are the advisor, that means your status would be the same as Zairas dono. We usually attach 【dono】, but for Banta, we will use  【san】 . There are people who look down on nobles from other countries.」

「Try to attach 【san】 as you see fit. Courtesy is important after all. Even so, I don’t mind you all addressing me as only Banta.」

The knights are nodded at my words.

Politeness is important even among close relations. But for companions of same age as me,  it would be enough if they call me using my nickname, Banta.

When I was looking at the bonfire idly, the mountain base started becoming a little noisy.

The surrounding men all rose at once and held their swords in their hands.

「The second squad came back. It seems they were successful in procuring food.」

Someone raised his voice delightfully and informed.

We all surrounded the bonfire again and relaxed.

By the look of their delightful expression, I wonder if they hadn’t eaten yet today.

In front of everyone’s eyes, a large pot was placed on the bonfire and the cooking started.

I don’t know what flavor it will be, but since the food is cooked over fire, it probably  will not upset the stomach.

Is that stew? I started looking forward to the dinner a little.

There’s a big brass plate and a brass spoon.

It seems to be the tableware from this world.

The stew served in the plate was a bit salty.

The brass cup had half of the wine diluted in water. Amazingly it was just right to eat with the meals.

Also no one will get drunk with it.

I lied down after finishing my dinner. The mantle was made with linen, so it was quite warm when I wrapped myself with it.

It is still spring but, if you are beside a bonfire, you won’t shiver due to cold.

 

Translator notes –

Here is the promised second chapter of the novel. Although it is quite late. I apologise for that. After this will be the third chapter and then I will move on to regular releases. But this will happen after my exams are over. For the coming two weeks there will be no releases. After that I ll try to give out fast chapters.

Finally, if there are any mistakes in the translation or any other suggestions, please do mention it. Thank you. And please enjoy the chapter.

 

Previous      Next

 

8 thoughts on “Bandit Chapter 2 – Where is the Hunting Ground?

  1. . ∧,_,∧ 
    .(`・ω・)つ━☆・*。
    .⊂   ノ   ・゜+.
    . し’´J  ☆*・ °。。
    .     /\   Thanks!! Nepu!!!
    .    / ★∴ \  Merry X-mas!
    .   (人_人_人)   And A
    .   / ∴∵★ \ Happy Nepu Year!
    .   (_人_人_人_)   ∧ ∧
    .   / .☆∴∵∴. \ ( ´・ω・)
    .  (_人★人☆人_) /  ⌒ヽ
    .     ̄凵   (人___つ_つ

    Like

Leave a comment